top of page
  • Writer's pictureShaneigh Smith

One More Chapter: 5318/5389 Contribution to My Learning Community

This post reflects my contributions to my learning and the learning community for 5318 and 5389. As I reflect on my time in both courses, my self-assessment is as follows: 


5318 Instructional Design & Online Learning: 95/100

5389 Developing Effective PL: 94/100


My collaborative group for both 5318 and 5389 includes myself, Lauren Blasdel, Mattheiu Brooks, Deena Fell, and Lance Moran. This group continues to be a source of encouragement and a team that builds each other up. 





What Worked Well?


What has worked well this 8 weeks is a little different than the others. Grit, perseverance, encouragement from my group members, and lots of prayers have gotten me through.  MANY life changes happened during these 8 weeks: the process of buying and selling our home, searching for a new daycare, my father in and out of the hospital, finding out my best friend has stage 4 breast cancer, and lastly, riding out the first trimester of my second pregnancy… can you say EXHAUSTED?! 


Nevertheless, I made it (despite the fact I felt like I was in survival mode the entire time). 


As mentioned above, the group I’m in has been a true gift from God. Our group’s GroupMe has been, once again, a lifesaver. The continuous check-ins, reminders, encouragement… it’s all been what this girl needs! The GroupMe also allows us to share assignments. While we have a Google Doc that Mattheiu so kindly created for us, the GroupMe is my favorite way to communicate. The group is quick to respond to any needs the other may have and is always willing to step in to give feedback and encouragement. In addition to our GroupMe messages, we try to meet via Zoom to discuss upcoming assignments, our feedback, and personal check-ins. These 8 weeks in particular have made me realize just how much I needed this group. 


In addition to regular collaboration with my ADL group for both 5318 and 5389, another aspect that went well was the ability to share the knowledge gained through 5318 with my team at work. Because of this course, I was able to share some great reasons as to why we should reevaluate our district PD. Now, we are looking into teacher-led PD and focussing more on classroom visits and follow-ups. 


As for 5389, I was able to see the value in creating an online course. I think I could take the knowledge I’ve gained and apply it to other course creations in the future. 



What Could Be Better? 


While I enjoyed both 5318 and 5389, I found myself rushing to complete assignments. I gave 100% of what I had left to both courses, but I still felt I fell short. I also, due to life circumstances, found it difficult to complete discussion posts for 5318. Even though I completed them by the end, I could not seem to balance any extra time. 


Contributing to Learning and the Learning of the Community


Across both 5318 and 5389, I maintained a consistent presence in the Zoom/Blackboard meetings. During these sessions, I listened attentively, taking detailed notes and asking questions.


In addition to my collaborative group interactions, I responded to our GroupMe and clarified any confusion on assignments, and committed the time to keeping our collaborative Google Doc current by sharing completed assignments and discussions. 


In general, I am proud of the contributions I've made, especially considering the external pressures I faced during this 8-week period. Nevertheless, without the steadfast support of my group (Deena, Lauren, Lance, and Mattheiu) I would not have had the success I did. Their generosity, kindness, and collaboration are something I am forever grateful for. I am excited to venture into our very last 8-weeks together!


13 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page